Skip to content

The “Evolution of Me” Over 70 Years

October 4, 2011

When new parents first hold their baby, they fall in love.  They stare in amazement of their perfect little bundle of joy.  Not because the baby has done anything special.  Not because the baby is the smartest, cutest, best dressed or most successful.  Just because.

For doing nothing at all, a new baby is embraced as a precious, wonderful expression of All-That-Is.  People naturally treasure these little ones, eager to admire and welcome them into the world.  But why?

The baby is completely helpless.  He  can’t do anything for himself or anyone else.  He’s not contributing anything to society.  He is needy and (only in the most literal sense of the word) useless.  Still, we see the immense value in this life.

And so it was when I was born the fifth child of my parents on November 25, 1941, one week before Pearl Harbor, Hawaii, was bombed by the Japanese which brought the United States into  World War II.

Unfortunately, after birth and somewhere along the way, we lose sight of who we are.  We begin to define ourselves, and each other, based on factors that have nothing to do with the core of our being.  Do any of the following sound familiar?

  • My hair is too frizzy.
  • I’m too fat.
  • I’m too skinny.
  • I have health problems.
  • Her clothes are ugly.
  • His nose is too big.
  • She’s not smart enough.
  • He’s mediocre.
  • They live in a trailer park.

There’s no need to feel guilty or ashamed of this learned behavior.  We’ve all been there.  We sometimes get so stuck on the physical aspects of our lives that we forget how wonderful we truly are.

We must wake up and value ourselves!  Wake up and realize that each and every one of us is an extension of a beautiful, magnificent, amazing God!  We are more significant to this Universe than any physical attribute can portray.

If you look in the mirror and you don’t see someone worthy of love, look again.  Remind yourself that the precious Soul that was within you as an infant is still there.  Nothing that happens (or doesn’t happen) in the physical determines your value.  You are not your nose size, body shape, job title, or bank account.  You don’t have to be the smartest, richest, or prettiest to be worthy of love.  Love yourself now!  You don’t need to be the most famous or most stylishly dressed in order to have value.  Value yourself now!

You were created by God in His image; therefore, you were born with great value.  God Himself surely adores you!  At no point should you stop being aware of your “Sole” Self—the larger part of you, which outlives every superficial factor hat distracts from the truth!  So, why not look past your physical imperfections and the goals you have not accomplished, and see yourself as that little baby that God created and loves unconditionally?  Helpless yet precious.  Needy yet valuable.  Powerless yet amazing.  Think about how the “little you” may have marveled at your own toes, fingers, mouth, and ears—experiencing life from a place of joy and wonder despite having only your presence to offer the world!  Years later, the person staring back at you in the mirror is still deserving of your love.  Go ahead and stand in awe of your presence.  Embrace yourself with the deepest love and appreciation.  Value yourself just because you are you, the exact same you that God created, and upon whom He Himself placed His Own Stamp of Approval!

Now share that warmth and love with everyone around you.  Instead of judging people for what they’ve done or how they look, see that which is like God within them.

Love yourself; value yourself; and see yourself in everyone else!

The truths I have just described took me nearly a lifetime to learn to accept.  Don’t you be that stupid!  I went to college at night while working days for over 15 years to get Undergraduate and Bachelor’s degrees to prove to myself that I was as smart as my bosses and college-graduated friends were!  I changed careers seven times during my lifetime because I did not feel intellectually challenged after a few years in each career!  I bought three Vacation Timeshares that I couldn’t afford to prove to myself that I could enjoy in the luxury that I thought  “the Rich” did! For many years I drove a Cadillac or a Lincoln because I wanted to “look” and “feel” successful!  I glorified in whom I believed I could be each day, condemned who I was each yesterday, and dreamed of who I could be each tomorrow!  But I found no peace, no joy, and no happiness in any of my concocted self-made “selves.”

Eventually God enlightened me by his revelations that “Life in Jesus Christ” is eternal when we choose to look at ourselves, others, and the world through God’s eyes with respect to His Creations of Life in His Own Image!  At last, I learned that my “false devil’s pride” existed only in my mind of misconceptions; that is, it didn’t exist at all!iHi

My idea that I might become something of more importance had come from an insane notion that I had created,in my mind that eventually caused me to act insanely.  A belief that created in me a world of judgment and condemnation.  Others had judged me; and from their observations and behaviors, I had judged and condemned myself!

Every prayer, every statement, every feeling we have – is creative!  We are created to create – not to react.  Creation is the highest form of Divinity, and is our birthright, our inheritance from God!  Truth is, we are creating all the time.  The central question in our lives is whether we are doing this consciously or unconsciously.  A hunch, or goose bumps on our arms, is God’s Holy Spirit prompting us, and should not be ignored.  Listen to your hunches; pay attention to your intuition; do not dismiss your random thoughts, inspirations or ideas.  God’s Holy Spirit  speaks in snippets, not in speeches.

Miracles seldom occur in the lives of those who do not consider them possible!  Whenever they do occur, they go unnoticed!

Go ahead and do what you really love to do!  Do nothing else!  You have so little time.  How can you think of wasting a moment doing something for a living you don’t like to do?  What kind of living is that?  That is not a living; that is a dying!

Your mind right now may be filled with old thoughts.  Not only old thoughts, but mostly someone else’s old thoughts.  It’s important now!  It’s time now to change your mind about some things.  This is what evolution is all about.

Following are some Inspirational Self-Improvement Quotes from Dr. Wayne Dyer, PhD, that I followed to help me look at myself; to learn to understand and know myself; and finally to train myself to desire changes in myself.  I will be forever indebted to Dr. Dyer for helping me to understand and love “myself,” and to find God’s Plan for my Life!  Today I love myself and am thankful that I am who am, one of God’s many beautiful and varied creations!

  • Abundance is not something we acquire.  It is something we tune into … God!
  • When you stop needing more of everything, more of what you desire seems to arrive in your life.
  • Begin to see yourself as a soul with a body rather than a body with a soul.
  • Conflict cannot survive without your participation.
  • “Deficiency” motivation doesn’t work.  It will lead to a lifelong pursuit of trying to fix me.  Learn to appreciate what you have, and where and who you are.
  • With everything that has happened to you, you can either feel sorry for yourself or treat what happened as a gift.  Everything is either an opportunity to grow or an obstacle to keep you from growing.  You get to choose.
  • You cannot solve a problem with the mind that created it.  First you must change the mind.
  • Doing what you love is the cornerstone of having abundance in your life.
  • Everything you are against weakens you.  Everything you are empowers you.
  • Freedom means you are unobstructed in living your life as you choose.  Anything less is a form of slavery.
  • If you are living out of a sense of obligation, you are a slave.
  • If you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.
  • Judgments prevent us from seeing the good that lies beyond appearances.
  • You may succeed in making another feel guilty about something by blaming him, but you won’t succeed in changing whatever it is about you that is making you unhappy.
  • Only the insecure strive for security.
  • Love is the ability and willingness to allow those that you care for to be what they choose for themselves without any insistence that they satisfy you.
  • Successful people make money.  It’s not that people who make money become successful, but that successful people attract money.  They bring success to what they do.
  • The state of your life is nothing more than a reflection of the state of your mind.
  • What we think determines what happens to us; so if we want to change our lives, we need to stretch our minds.
  • Simply put, you believe that things or people make you unhappy; but this is not accurate.  You make yourself unhappy.
  • Heaven is a state of mind, not a location (presently).  Someday it will be our home forever!
  • The highest form of ignorance is when you reject something you don’t know anything about.
  • There is no scarcity of opportunity to make a living at what you love; there’s only scarcity of resolve to make it happen.
  • What comes out of you when you are squeezed is what is inside of you.
  • When you judge another, you do not define them; you define yourself.
  • When I chased after money, I never had enough.  When I got my life on purpose and focused on giving of myself and everything that arrived into my life, then I was prosperous.
  • You cannot be lonely if you like the person you’re alone with.
  • You’ll see it when you believe it!
  • A mind at peace, a mind centered on good and not focused on harming others, is stronger than any physical force in the Universe.
  • There is no way to happiness.  Happiness is the way.
  • Heaven on Earth is a choice you must make, not a place we must find.
  • I am realistic … I expect miracles!
  • Happiness is something more than a reflection of your state of mind.
  • Did you ever notice how difficult it is to argue with someone who is not obsessed with being right?
  • Be miserable … or motivate yourself.  Whatever has to be done, it’s always your choice.
  • Circumstances do not make a man; they reveal him.
  • If you’re always in a hurry; always trying to get ahead of the other guy; or if someone else’s performance is what motivates you; then that person is in control of you.
  • Go for it now.  The future is promised to no one.
  • You are always a valuable, worthwhile human being – not because anybody said so; not because you’re successful; not because you make a lot of money – but because you decide to believe it; and for no other reason!

Let’s return to our baby-like “innocence” of living our lives by accepting without judging ourselves or others!  Let’s be happy; let’s make that our choice.  It’s simple.  It’s easy.  It’s comfortable.  It’s worthwhile.  It’s amazing!

Remember:  We don’t have to become like God.”  We ARE God-like!  We were created in His Image (like Him) by Him!

Proverbs 3:  5, 6:  “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; and lean not on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will direct your paths.

 Gloria Carter is a wife, mother, grandmother, Red-Hatter, and all-around enjoy-er of the life God has abundantly blessed her with.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

